Greatest Upset in WORLD CUP 2023

I am a cricket fan. I love to watch cricket matches whenever I find time. Since I am from India, its natural to support our Indian team. But I also fan of other teams . So I am eagerly waiting for the World Cup 2023 and I wish India should win this cup as they are hosting this year’s tournament.

This year World Cup will not be the same as it was. You may be surprised why I am saying this. Yeah I can’t imagine a World Cup without West Indies. I was shocked over their disqualification. I could not digest that once the mighty West Indies has lost to Scotland, the minnows of the game.

During 1975 & 1979 the world cricket jittered when they happen to face West Indies. They dominated the World Cricket and left no chance to other teams to match their performance leaving aside winning them. The players like Richards, Greenidge, Llyod, Marshal, Holding & Roberts send shivers to the other teams players. It was the time West Indies team were at their peak.

After 1979, when India grabbed the World Cup in 1983 from West Indies, they had no chance to touch the cup again till date, though they won two T20 World Cups. Their performance started declining in every tournament.

In this World Cup they stooped to such a low level by not even qualifying for the tournament. It is really a disappointing for the cricket fans all over the world. I wish West Indies team to bounce back and show their power in the next World Cup.

4 thoughts on “Greatest Upset in WORLD CUP 2023

    1. Yeah, Venkat. West Indies team is very good and always gives good competition to all the teams. I hope they will certainly improve their performance and give their 100% performance in the next World Cup.

Leave a comment